It’s Lo its Life and we can’t get enough of this!!

Im from the alter destiny beyond this galaxies known reaches, but while in my infant stages (highschool) I became very aware of an underground life style known as the lo life. The Lo-Lifes culture started in NY when two groups of Polo Fans came together for an epic photo opp in Hip Hop history. Mostly known for “catching wreck” in any Polo section, the lo life culture and style transended into what we know now as “The Golden Era” in hip hop. This ranged from the late 80’s to the mid 90’s. I was in highschool in Detroit but was a very big fan of the movement. Watching videos and seeing Reakwon in the Snow Beach joint was crazy. It was my version of fresh, or at least what appealed most to me. It was the clean style that was “rockable” that made it work for me. In “The D” we took more of the cleaner looks to our version of the style. More like the rugged prep look. Cookie boots with the flag sweater but adding two collared polos underneath. Chicago had its own version of it, so did Cleveland, the South, and even as far as California, Polo has become the refined choice within hip hop. No other brand has the same appeal nor staying power.

I personally got back into my polo hunting by accident. Too much strong influence around me took me right back to my first vision of what fresh is. Big ups to my Lo bro’s Merl-Lo , and Lo B Free and the whole Lo beach / Lo-gans Heroes fam for guiding me back, but also the new admiration for Ralphy. The Lo Life has almost turned into an elite fraternity of sorts, building weAlot of cats in the game that are around my age are on the same page it seems. Kanye West first came on the scene showing much love for Lo, others include Just Blaze, Taz Arnold, 88 Keys and Young Dro. Alot of youngens want to join the cause but are doing it all wrong. Its not about having a piece here or there, its about having the correct pieces to form VOLTRON on your wardrobe. I am personally sick of the skinny jeans era, so I’m going to shun it and return to forever. I hope you take heed. Its lo its life and we cant get enough of this.

At the request of some of the most thorough Lo Lifes, Kanye West must be denounced for his lo abandonment , and for the sheer fact that hes a clown. Knowledge 1 as well for his catch up to us swag with the Wing, and Young Dro. Rack Lo said so! None of these cats have been deemed worthy of the affiliation so there ya go! Lo has many fans, but the official LO LIFE club originated and thrives in none other than Brooklyn New York. Much Love to the pioneers. Also big ups to Wiggs-Lo for opening the gates to the community.

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “It’s Lo its Life and we can’t get enough of this!!

  1. WIGGZ-LO says:

    HA-HA, AIGHT THEN MY DUDE, GOOD LOOKIN’ ON THE SHOUT-OUT!! I’VE BEEN CHECKING YOUR BLOGSPOT PERIODICALLY AND YOU GOT SUTTIN’ NICE GOIN ON OVER HERE INDEED!! BE ON THE LOOK OUT IN 2010 CAUSE I’M DROPPIN’ SOME SHIT LIKE JERU MY DUDE! IT’S GONNA BLOW SYL OUT THE WATER, BUT SYL WILL STILL CONTINUE…STAY TUNED….

  2. I just got put on this post by a homie, and it’s a dope. Growing up in Brooklyn as a kid, I literally witnessed the movement evolve over the years. Nowadays, it’s gotten out of control because people that have no knowledge of the history and are claiming the lifestyle. I recently did a freestyle that addresses the issue. With no visible way to reach you directly, I’ll leave the link in this comment along with my blurb. Keep doing the damn thing and L’s up!!!!

    LINK: http://usershare.net/al5ppos4jctb

    “I know this beat has been criminally abused over the past couple months and because of it, this may be overlooked or hated on. My intent wasn’t to simply rhyme on one of the hottest tracks, but to inform and shed light on a current trend. I’ve noticed tons of rappers shouting out Polo Ralph Lauren in their verses, but most are unfamiliar with the crew of boosters from Brooklyn, The Lo-Lives, who basically started what we now consider urban fashion. Not only did they help popularize the brand, but many went to jail and lost their lives for it. Their influence can be traced back from Grand Puba, Zhigge, and Raekwon to as recently as Fabolous and Kanye. As a self proclaimed “Lo-Head”, I felt I had to do my part. L’s up!!!”

    -The Incomparable Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

