Back from the Beyond // Sacrifice!

Hello Family,

I know it has been a long while since I have posted anything on The Manifesto and I would like to sincerely apologize for that. Your boy has been extremely busy riding the waves of life. I’d love to tell you that all of my time has been spent creating the newness for Cold Eels & Deep Thoughts, or something new for COLDBLUDED but unfortunately more time has been dominated by my nine to five as well as freelance work. I currently work as a Graphic / Fashion Designer for a well know urban clothing company, and with so many changes in the economy the ill effects are clearly seen in my everyday. Without delving to deeply into it our design team has been cut drastically so more work has appeared on my desk resulting in the neglect of the manifesto as well as personal projects. This is unacceptable and I promise you it will no longer be a distraction. This is what prompted me to write this editorial. Not only to explain my absence but to put something more on your mind.

Never let your life get in the way of your dreams. Life has so many ways to derail you from your chosen path, be it relationships, changes in your finance, or just lack of ambition. NOTHING should be able to steal your personal THUNDER. As an artist who works in the creative industry it’s very hard to come home and do more art. But to make your dreams a reality you must continue to stoke that fire. Life is still life, and bills still come just as the next day is sure to arrive. Everyone understands that you need to survive, but if you dream bigger than what you have in front of you, you must work harder to make those dreams real. If you need to take a job to survive, make your JOB fund your DREAMS if that’s the case.

In life it’s so easy to get into a groove where you go to work all day, collect your check every two weeks, and pay your bills. We often forget to bet on ourselves and time has a way to catch up with us and so many opportunities pass us up, because we were preoccupied with the NOW rather than the NEXT. If you desire to be in a different position in your life, every free moment must be dedicated to blazing the trail to that future. All of your free thoughts must be attached to your dreams. Sometimes you DO have to put all of your eggs in one basket. The safe road often leads to the forgotten dreams. Sometimes you just have to roll the dice and see what happens.

Everything you want in life is attainable. But these things rarely come without some sort of sacrifice. You figure it out.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Back from the Beyond // Sacrifice!

  1. SamIAm says:

    Truth! I catch myself working all day and coming home to beat to get back on my computer or pick up my sketch book. But most nights I end up falling asleep on my computer. So I know what you mean. It does get more difficult as time ticks by, when you don’t have that youthful energy to stay up 2-3 days straight and knock out a project. But indeed, we have to press on!

Leave a Reply

